Belgium has over 18 million tourists every year, with many flocking to beautiful historic cities like Bruges. It’s also home to Brussels, the Belgian capital and the capital of the EU.

If you live in a European country that has signed onto the Schengen agreement, then you are free to pass through Belgian borders without issue. But if you live outside of the Schengen Area you might need what is known as an ETIAS visa waiver, which is required of all visitors from over 60 countries after 2022.

ETIAS Visa Waiver For Belgium

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) was created to control and secure travel to the Schengen Zone. It is a visa waiver, not a traditional visa, and it gives holders access to all 26 countries within the Schengen Area, including Belgium.

Once you have received travel authorization, you can move freely throughout the Schengen Area, which covers countries like France, Greece, Spain, and Germany, to name just a few.

How Do I Apply for an ETIAS for Belgium?

You can apply for a visa waiver online through the official website for the European Travel Information and Authorization System. The application process takes less than 10 minutes, and you only need a secure WIFI connection and a valid passport to complete it.

Do I Need a Belgium ETIAS?

You will need an ETIAS visa waiver to enter Belgium after the end of 2022, assuming you are from one of the 60+ countries that require this specific authorization. These countries include Canada, the United States, Australia, and New Zealand.

What Other European Countries Can I Visit?

Belgium is just one of 26 countries within the Schengen Zone, and you will have access to all of them with your ETIAS travel authorization. These countries are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Visiting Belgium with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Modern-day Belgium played an important role in European history. It fell to the Romans nearly 2,000 years ago and was then conquered by the Franks, before being ruled by some of the continent’s strongest powers.

You can see some of this great history yourself in medieval cities like Bruges and Ghent, and there is no shortage of museums to explore.

What Are the Best Cities to Visit in Belgium?

Once you have your Belgium ETIAS visa waiver, you can make a beeline for the beautiful Bruges, Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent, or other great locations in Belgium.

Bruges is one of the most popular, and if you have ever seen pictures of the canals, stone bridges, and town square, you’ll understand why. It’s a little hectic during the Spring and Summer when the tourists descend, but those high numbers don’t detract from the beauty of the old town and there’s a lot more of Bruges to see away from the tourist traps.

Is it Safe to Visit Belgium?

Like all countries in the Schengen Zone, Belgium is very safe, and the crime rates are no higher than the rest of Europe. If you’re visiting popular tourist areas, you will need to keep your wits about you and look out for scams and pickpockets, but the same could be said for all tourist destinations and, on the whole, it is a very safe and friendly country.