Most of the countries requiring an ETIAS are Schengen Member countries. The European countries requiring an ETIAS for travel from 2023 onward are as follows:

What is the ETIAS application process?

The process of applying for an ETIAS is similar to the visa application process. The applicant must fill in a form online and submit it with the relevant documents. The application form requires the applicant to provide a digital photo, but it can be a passport photo, which is scanned. It is estimated that the processing time is between two and three minutes after application submission.

What documents are required to apply for ETIAS?

  • A valid passport
  • A completed ETIAS application form
  • Travel itinerary
  • Proof of travel medical insurance
  • Debit or credit card to pay the ETIAS application fee

An ETIAS is different from a visa. Each ETIAS incurs a fee that is to be paid by the travel applicant. Applicants under the age of 18 are exempt from paying this fee.

The ETIAS will be valid for three years and it is valid for a maximum of five entries into the Schengen zone.

What happens if an ETIAS is rejected?

A rejected applicant will be notified by email, and the email will contain the reasons for the rejection. There will be a period of two months for the applicant to correct the errors and resubmit the application. If the application is rejected a second time, it will not be possible to resubmit it.

How long is the ETIAS valid for?

The ETIAS is valid for three years and it is valid for a maximum of five entries into the Schengen zone.

Will Americans and Canadians need an ETIAS?

The United States and Canada are included on the list of countries that require an ETIAS. This is mainly because both countries require citizens of Schengen Member countries to obtain an ESTA or eTA to enter the United States or Canada, respectively.

ETIAS and the United Kingdom

Citizens of the United Kingdom will require an ETIAS to visit the countries participating in the ETIAS, as shown above.

The UK will launch it’s own electronic travel authorization in the near future as reciprocal measure to the United States, Canada and European countries.

ETIAS and the Schengen zone

The ETIAS will have an impact on the Schengen zone because travellers will have to pay for an ETIAS to visit the Schengen zone. The ETIAS may negatively affect the tourism industry in the Schengen zone.

Travel agents will have to pay for an ETIAS for their clients and this will increase the cost of travel. It is estimated that the ETIAS will increase the cost of travel by $2.2 billion USD.