As of late-2022, all Ni-Vanuatu citizens must apply for an ETIAS visa waiver before visiting the Schengen Zone, which spans countries like Austria, Slovakia, Sweden, and the Netherlands.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Citizens of Vanuatu

The ETIAS, or “European Travel Information and Authorization System”, to give it its full name, is an authorization system that automatically vets travelers from over 60 nations before they enter the Schengen Zone.

It was first proposed several years ago but has taken some time to implement. The purpose of the ETIAS is to safeguard all countries within the Schengen Zone by limiting access to high-risk individuals, including drug smugglers, terrorists, human traffickers, and violent criminals.

As a Ni-Vanuatu citizen, you must apply for an ETIAS before you visit the Schengen Zone. Once granted, the authorization will be valid for 3 years or until the associated passport expires. It grants travelers access to the Schengen Zone for up to 90 days within any 180-day period.

What is the ETIAS Application Process for Ni-Vanuatu Citizens?

You can apply for an ETIAS online through the official website. It takes between 5 and 10 minutes to complete and you need only the most basic information.

Unlike a Schengen visa, which requires recently-taken photographs, travel insurance, proof of accommodation, and proof of financial means, the ETIAS asks only for:

  • Name and date of birth
  • A valid email address
  • A valid passport
  • Basic travel information
  • A €7 fee (paid with a credit card or debit card)

The passport must be valid for at least 3 months from the intended date of travel, as that will ensure you can remain in the Schengen Zone for up to 90 days.

When and Where Does the ETIAS Apply?

The ETIAS applies to all countries within the Schengen Zone, which includes 22 member states of the European Union along with Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland, and Switzerland.

Some of the countries that you can visit with an ETIAS include Poland, the Netherlands, Greece, France, Finland, Latvia, Portugal, Malta, Denmark, and Sweden. And the great thing about the ETIAS is that there is only one application and one authorization—if you have an ETIAS for Spain then you will also be allowed to visit the 25 other Schengen nations.

It also means that you can cross borders and enter multiple different countries, providing they are in the Schengen Zone and you are within your 90-day limit. For instance, you can fly to Germany, enjoy some time in beautiful cities like Hamburg, Berlin, and Munich, and then take a train to neighboring countries like Belgium, the Netherlands, and France.

What are the Best Places for a Ni-Vanuatu Passport Holder to Visit with an ETIAS?

The Schengen Area includes some of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, including France, Spain, Germany, and Italy. It’s one of the most culturally diverse regions in the world and it also includes a wealth of great food and history. There is a little bit of everything and once you have ETIAS authorization, the entire continent will be at your disposal.

Is the Schengen Zone Safe for Ni-Vanuatu Citizens?

Most countries in the Schengen Zone are very safe, although it depends on where you travel and it’s still important to protect yourself and be on your guard. The rates of serious crime are very low when compared to many other countries around the world, but in popular tourist destinations, pickpocketing and scams are common.

Make sure you know where you’re going, what transport you will be using, and where to turn in an emergency. You should also avoid carrying around too much cash and make sure your belongings are secured at all times.