The ETIAS or “Schengen visa” is a visa waiver that gives travelers access to countries within the Schengen Area, including beautiful Denmark.

If you have an ETIAS for Denmark, you are free to explore the country for up to 90 days and can also see some other regions within the European Union and Schengen Zone. In this guide, we’ll show you how you can apply for an ETIAS for Denmark, what it means, and what it entitles you to.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Denmark

In 2022, a new system was created to allow for safer travel across Schengen countries, including Denmark. Known as ETIAS, this system is automatic and electronic. You can apply for an ETIAS in just a few minutes and, if accepted, you will be able to travel to Denmark and other countries in the Schengen Area, including France, Spain, Greece, and Germany.

ETIAS stands for “European Travel Information and Authorization System”. Applications can be made online, and you will be required to apply if you reside in countries like the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and over 50 other nations.

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Denmark?

It depends, as the list of countries that need to apply is rather extensive. Generally speaking, if you reside within the European Union or even the UK, which is no longer part of the EU, you shouldn’t need to apply. But if you’re in a country that doesn’t need a visa to visit Denmark and other EU member states, you will likely be asked to submit an application.

How Can I Get a Visa Waiver?

You can get travel authorization online. The ETIAS visa waiver application process is quick and easy, as that’s the way that it was designed. It will ask you for some basic information, including your contact details, passport, and residency.

The ETIAS application process will also require a small payment via debit or credit card.

How Long Does the ETIAS for Denmark Last?

You can visit Denmark for up to 90 days (within a 180-day period) and the ETIAS visa waiver will remain valid for three years from the point of approval.

What Documents Do I Need?

You will need a valid passport and some other basic personal information. It will also check your working history and criminal record, although these checks will be run against international databases and you’re not required to provide them yourself.

The ETIAS application process will also ask you which country you want to visit. To avoid problems when you apply for an ETIAS, make sure you are 100% honest and don’t try to hide anything.

Can I Visit Denmark with a Criminal Record?

If you have a criminal record, it may be flagged by the ETIAS system. The application process is automatic, usually takes just a few minutes, and is completed without issue. But if you have a criminal record or any other serious issues, it may flag a manual review.

That doesn’t mean that you will be refused access, though. The ETIAS system was not created to prevent entry to everyone with minor criminal histories and it really only focuses on serious crimes, including violent offenses, terrorism, and serious drug crimes.

It’s hard to say whether or not your record will be flagged or refused when you apply for the ETIAS, as they are judged on a case-by-case basis.

Visiting Denmark ​with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

From the cosmopolitan Copenhagen (which is home to one of the oldest zoos in Europe) to the vast Thy National Park, there’s a lot to see and experience in Denmark and an ETIAS visa waiver will give you access to all of it.

You are also free to visit other countries in the Schengen Zone, including nearby Sweden and Norway.

Is Denmark a Safe Country?

Denmark is one of the safest countries in the world and regularly tops leaderboards for cleanliness, safety, and happiness. In fact, the same is true for most Scandinavian countries, and visiting these countries for the first time is like stepping into a different world.

Is the ETIAS for Denmark Just for Leisure Travel Purposes?

An ETIAS visa waiver allows you to travel to Denmark and other countries in the Schengen zone for business and medical purposes, as well as general tourism. It means that you can apply if you’re scouting the area for business reasons, trying some medical tourism, or just moving from point A to point Z and need legal passage.