The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) comes into effect from the end of 2022 and will change the game for Dominicans traveling to the Schengen Zone. Before this date, Dominican citizens are free to travel throughout the European Union and to visit countries like Greece and Spain. After this date, it’s still fairly easy to make those trips, but there is an extra step involved.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Dominican Citizens

Dominica is one of the 60 countries that are required to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver as soon as the system is implemented.

The ETIAS application process can be completed online and requires a nominal fee of €7. It should take less than 10 minutes to complete and you only need a valid passport (with at least 3 months remaining), an email address, and a secure WIFI connection.

The ETIAS visa waiver currently grants access to 22 countries within the Schengen Zone (including Austria, Italy, Greece, and Finland), as well as 4-non Schengen countries (including Norway and Switzerland).

Do Dominican Citizens Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver for Europe?

All countries are separated into four groups as far as the Schengen Zone is concerned.

There are those within the Schengen Area, those that need an ETIAS visa waiver, those that need a Schengen Visa, and those refused access completely.

Although the ETIAS creates an additional step for Dominican travelers, it’s preferable to the other options. Dominicans still have relatively easy access to the region and can get there following a quick online application.

Can Dominican Citizens Travel to the US Without a Visa?

A visa is required for all Dominicans hoping to travel to the United States. They are not included as part of the USA’s visa waiver program and must undergo the longer visa application process if they wish to visit the country.

Which Countries Can Dominicans Visit Without a Visa?

The Henley Passport Index ranks the Dominican passport as 33rd in the world in terms of visa-free access. In 2021, Dominican passport holders were able to travel to 143 countries and territories without a visa or with a visa waiver.

Some notable exceptions including Australia, China, the United States, and large parts of Asia and Africa. Dominican citizens are able to visit the United Kingdom without a visa, though, and they can stay there for up to 6 months at a time.