In 2022, the rules changed for visitors to Finland and other countries in the Schengen Area. The introduction of the ETIAS visa waiver secured the borders for the 26 Schengen countries and introduced a simple process for European travel.

If you’re traveling to Finland from the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and dozens of other countries, you may need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Finland

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. An ETIAS Finland is a waiver that gives you access to this Northern European nation, but there are no nation-specific variations of this waiver, and that same ETIAS authorization can also be used elsewhere.

The ETIAS is not a traditional visa. It does allow visitors to access Finland and other countries in the Schengen Area, but their stay must be limited to no more than 90 consecutive days. The process of applying for an ETIAS visa waiver is also much quicker and easier than a visa and it’s all conducted online, with most applications taking just 10 minutes to complete.

These rules are true for all nations in the Schengen Zone and not just Finland. Other member states include Denmark, Norway, Iceland, France, Greece, and Spain. If you receive Schengen travel authorization, you are free to visit these countries and to cross connecting borders.

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Finland?

Residents from over 60 countries will need to apply for a visa waiver before visiting Finland. These countries include the United States and Canada.

How Can I Get a Visa Waiver?

To apply for an ETIAS for Finland, you just need to complete a quick online form. It will ask for your name, contact details, location, citizenship, address, and the country that you intend to visit first. You also need to be in possession of a valid passport and have a debit or credit card available to pay the ETIAS application fee.

Will I Be Refused a Finland ETIAS?

The ETIAS was not designed to create a strict border control system that bans everyone who is even remotely suspicious. Unlike the United States and Canada, where it’s possible to be refused entry even with minor infractions on your criminal record, it’s unlikely that you will be refused an ETIAS.

The main goal is to prevent terrorists and other serious criminals from entering the Schengen Zone.

How Long is it Valid For?

The ETIAS is valid for 3 years from the point that your application is approved. It means that you can plan your trip in advance and make sure you apply for ETIAS approval nice and early, thus preventing any last-minute complications.

If you’re planning a trip to any ETIAS countries, even if that trip is several months away, you should start putting the pieces together, making sure you have a valid passport, have your tickets and accommodation in order, and have applied for travel authorization.

Visiting Finland with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Once you have your ETIAS waiver for Finland, you’re free to explore this great nation. Finland is home to several great museums and art galleries, as well as a massive casino and lots of opportunities for adventure.

You can see the Northern Lights, partake in some local liquor, and explore the national park and ski resorts. The locals speak Finnish and Swedish primarily, but the majority also speak English, so you shouldn’t have an issue finding your way and asking for help.

If you do visit Finland, make sure you do your research in advance, understanding when and where to see the Northern Lights and plotting a course for the country’s best museums and entertainment hotspots.

Is Finland a Safe Country?

Finland is very safe, and you can take all of your family members along. Just remember to wrap up warm, because it can get very cold. In fact, this Schengen member state experiences some of the coldest winters of all countries in the European Union.