France is one of the most visited countries in the world, and it’s easy to see why. Not only is its capital city, Paris, the go-to destination for romantics the world over, but it also offers everything from sunshine and red carpets in the south of the country to culture and great food in the north.

Millions visit the country every year and after 2022, many of those will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver before they are given access.

The ETIAS visa waiver for France is easy to apply for and gives applicants access to this country and to other countries in the Schengen Zone.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for France

The European Travel Information and Authorization System or “ETIAS” is a travel authorization protocol designed to provide countries in the Schengen Area with safer and simpler border control.

With an ETIAS visa waiver, you can travel to France for up to 90 days at a time and the waiver will be valid for 3 years from the time that it is approved.

Do I Need a Visa to Visit France?

It depends on your nationality and country of residence. If you reside in the European Union, you shouldn’t need an ETIAS visa waiver. However, you will be asked to apply if you reside in the United States, Canada, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Japan, Moldova, Montenegro, Australia, New Zealand, and over 50 other countries.

How Can I Get a Visa Waiver?

You can apply for a visa waiver for France online. The application process takes just a few minutes to complete and requires only the most basic information, including your passport details, contact details, resident status, and some details regarding your recent travel habits.

You will also be asked to pay a small fee via debit or credit card.

How Long Does an ETIAS for France Last?

The visa waiver is valid for 3 years, but you will only be allowed to stay in the country for up to 90 days.

Is the ETIAS for France a Visa?

The ETIAS is not a traditional visa and so the application process is not as stringent. In fact, it’s mostly automatic, although a manual review will be triggered if certain warning signs are detected, including a serious criminal record.

What Does ETIAS Mean?

ETIAS stands for “European Travel Information and Authorization System”. The ETIAS system was introduced in 2020 after several years of discussion and it allows individuals who successfully complete the application process to visit Schengen member states.

Visiting France with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Once you have your ETIAS visa waiver, you will be free to access France and other countries in the Schengen Area, including nearby Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, and Spain. Technically, you can hop on a train, explore all of France (from Lillie in the north to Nice in the south) and then cross borders to visit some other countries in the European Union.

Once you have that travel authorization, and providing you abide by the terms outlined within, you can explore more of the Schengen Zone.

What are the Best Cities to Visit in France?

Paris is the city that everyone visits and there is certainly a lot to see in the French capital. However, it’s also one of the most expensive cities in the European Union and there’s a lot more to France than the City of Light.

Once you have your ETIAS travel authorization, you have 90 days to see the country, so get out there and explore wine country, visit the markets in Marseille, and absorb some of the beauty and history of locations like Mont Saint-Michel, Loire Valley Chateaux, and the Alsace Villages.

Is France a Safe Country?

Like all of the Schengen member states, France is a very safe country with a wealth of history and culture to explore. As always, you will need to protect yourself from scammers and pick-pockets, as they tend to target tourists, but as long as you stay vigilant, you’ll be fine!