Iceland is not part of the European Union, but it is part of the Schengen Zone and the broader European Economic Area. If you travel to Iceland from outside this area, you may need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Iceland

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It is an electronic system designed to simplify and streamline travel to countries in the Schengen Area, allowing for fast and secure travel for residents outside of this area.

If you complete the ETIAS application and get an ETIAS visa waiver for Iceland, you will be allowed to visit the country for up to 90 days and the authorization will last for 3 years. You don’t need to stay in Iceland, either, as the ETIAS visa waiver is also valid for other countries in the Schengen Area.

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Iceland?

If you live in the United States, New Zealand, Australia, and dozens of other countries outside of the European Union, you may need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver before you visit Iceland and other Schengen countries.

How Can I Get a Visa Waiver?

You can apply for an ETIAS visa waiver online. The application process is designed to be quick and easy and can be completed in under 10 minutes. At the end of the process, you will be asked to pay an application fee using a debit or credit card.

Travel authorization is usually granted or denied straight away. If it’s the former, you will be emailed the necessary travel documents and will be able to move freely throughout the Schengen Area.

What are the Schengen Countries?

There are 26 Schengen countries for which you need an ETIAS, and more will likely be added in the future. These countries include Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

With an ETIAS visa waiver, you can travel to Iceland and to these other Schengen countries.

Visiting Iceland with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Iceland is one of the most extraordinary countries in the world. Its landscape will blow you away and there is also a lot of great food and culture to explore. More importantly, it’s one of the best places to see the Northern Lights, allowing you to put that Schengen visa waiver to good use!

Of course, unlike some countries in central Europe, Iceland doesn’t share borders with other nations in the European Union or Schengen Zone. In fact, it doesn’t share borders with anyone. When you go to Iceland, you stay in Iceland, but when there is so much natural beauty to see, why would you want to leave?

What are the Best Attractions to See in Iceland?

Iceland is a small country with a small population. Visiting Iceland isn’t the same as visiting some of the other countries in the Schengen Zone. It lacks the ancient history of Greece, Italy, France, and England, isn’t as vast and diverse as Germany, and isn’t as well known for its food as countries in Southern Europe.

Still, there’s a lot to see and do here. The landscape is like nothing you have ever seen and it’s the perfect country for hikers and adventurers. You can join other visitors by bathing in the Blue Lagoon, going whale watching, and visiting local bars and restaurants to sample some Icelandic food and drink.

Is Iceland a Safe Country?

Iceland is very safe. Icelandic people are wholesome and friendly. They generally welcome people with open arms and are great fun to be around. Most of them speak English and because even its biggest cities have a small population density, there is a very communal feel throughout the country.