Macau (or “Macao Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China” to give it its full name), is a small city/region located in the south of China. It is roughly one-third the size of Miami, Florida, and yet it has a population of over 680,000 people, making it one of the most densely populated regions in the world.

Macau is known as the Las Vegas of the East, although the gambling industry in Macau is actually 7 times larger than Sin City. It is one of the most-visited regions in the world and it’s on countless bucket lists. But the Macanese love to travel as well, and while many seem to head for big cities in China, Japan, and Korea, a growing number choose to visit Europe.

If you’re one of the many Macanese travelers with eyes on France, Italy, Greece, Spain, Germany, and other Schengen countries, you may need an ETIAS before you travel.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Macanese Citizens

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) comes into effect at the end of 2022 and will apply to all Macanese travelers who wish to visit the Schengen Zone.

It doesn’t matter how old you are or to which country you travel, if you hold a Macau passport and want to visit Schengen countries like Austria, France, Italy, Belgium, and the Netherlands, you will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver.

How to Apply for an ETIAS in Macau

The ETIAS application process is quick and easy. You can complete your application online in under 10 minutes, with the system requesting only the most basic information, including:

  • Your Passport Details
  • Your Name, Date of Birth, and Address
  • Your Intended Destination

A €7 fee must also be paid, and you will need a debit card or credit card to complete the payment.

 Is ETIAS a Schengen Visa?

The ETIAS is a visa waiver, not a visa. It means that you can access the country without a visa, but it does not grant you the same rights as a Schengen Visa would.

For instance, a Schengen Visa can be used to work and study long-term while an ETIAS is only valid for 6 months.

What are the Best Countries to Visit with an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

If you’re looking for some Macau glitz and glamour in the heart of Europe, look no further than cities like Paris and Monaco, the latter of which is a de facto member of the Schengen Zone. Cosmopolitan cities like Vienna, Brussels, Amsterdam, Milan, Madrid, and Barcelona also have a lot to offer and all of these can be accessed with an ETIAS visa waiver.