The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) system is something that all well-traveled citizens of the Marshall Islands will need to familiarize themselves with from the end of 2022.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Marshallese Citizens

The ETIAS is an authorization system that was designed to protect the internal borders of the Schengen Zone, an area that spans 26 countries. All of these countries signed an agreement to abolish internal borders and operate under the same border laws, and the ETIAS is the system that should keep them safe and ensure that drug smugglers, human traffickers, and career criminals are refused access.

The Marshall Islands is one of the 60 countries that are eligible for the ETIAS, which means that its citizens must complete an application and receive authorization before they visit the region.

The ETIAS application form takes just 10 minutes to complete and the checks are made automatically. If there are no issues with your application, you will receive authorization within 72 hours. If the system flags a potential problem, such as a serious ongoing investigation or criminal record, it will be sent for manual review.

 How do Marshallese Citizens Apply for an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

You can find the application form on the official ETIAS website where you will be asked for all of the following information:

  • A Valid Marshallese Passport
  • Basic Personal and Travel Details
  • A Debit Card or Credit Card (a €7 fee is charged for all applicants over the age of 18)

As it’s an online application, with the authorization sent by email, you will also need a secure internet connection and a valid email address.

Which Countries Can the Marshallese Visit Without a Visa?

Citizens of the Marshall Islands don’t have a lot of freedom when it comes to visa-free travel. In fact, the Henley Passport Index ranks the Marshall Islands passport very poorly. However, they can visit the United States without a visa and they are afforded the same freedom when traveling to the United Kingdom.

Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Brazil, and Argentina all insist on a visa, though, and Marshallese travelers will also need a visa if they are visiting most countries in Asia and Africa, with only a few exceptions.