After the end of 2022, a new system will be implemented that seeks to secure the borders of the Schengen Zone by refusing entry to anyone deemed a security risk.

Known as the European Travel Information and Authorization System or “ETIAS” for short, it’s a European visa waiver that applies to all countries within the Schengen Area.

As a Mexican citizen, you must apply for ETIAS authorization before you can visit this region.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Mexican Citizens

As a citizen of Mexico, you are required to apply for an ETIAS before you can visit countries like Italy, Austria, Greece, and Germany. If you hold a valid Mexican passport, however, then the process is quick, easy, and cheap, costing just €7 for applicants 18 or over and nothing for those under 18.

Once travel authorization has been granted, the ETIAS will remain valid for 3 years, or until the associated passport expires. It can be used to visit Schengen countries for up to 90 days within any 180 day period.

Do Mexican Citizens Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver for Europe?

Mexican travelers to the Schengen Zone will need to apply for an ETIAS before they depart. The only exception is if that departure date is before the end of 2022, which is when the ETIAS comes into effect.

However, the Schengen Zone doesn’t cover all of Europe and so it doesn’t apply to every country on the continent. It doesn’t even span all of the European Union (EU), although the bulk of the countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement are also part of the EU.

Check to see if your intended destination is a Schengen Country before you depart. If so, you need to apply for an ETIAS. If not, other visa rules may apply.

Requirements for Mexicans

Mexican citizens must be in possession of the following to apply for an ETIAS:

  • Valid Mexican passport (with 3+ months validity)
  • Internet access (to complete the ETIAS application)
  • Email address
  • Credit or debit card (for €7 fee)

It should take less than 10 minutes to apply for ETIAS travel authorization and it will then be granted within 72 hours.

Is Mexico in the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area includes countries within the European Union (EU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). It does not (and will never) cover countries in the Americas.

The purpose of the Schengen Agreement was to abolish internal borders, which means that traveling through countries like Austria, Germany, and Liechtenstein is effectively like moving across the same country. It gives residents of Schengen countries complete freedom and also allows visitors to explore different areas.

Can Mexican Citizens Travel to the US Without a Visa?

Despite Mexico’s close proximity to the United States, Mexican citizens are required to have an entry permit before they visit the UK and they also need a visa if they want to live there.

The visa is known as a B1/B2 visa and Mexican citizens may also be asked to complete a health declaration.

Which Countries Can Mexican Citizens Visit Without a Visa?

The Henley Passport Index ranks the Mexican passport as one of the 25 best in the world in terms of visa-free access. It sounds more impressive than it is, as there are multiple entries for each position and the top 10 actually spans 30 countries. But it means that the Mexican passport is ahead of the likes of Taiwan, Ukraine, and Peru.

Some of the countries that Mexican citizens can visit without a visa (or with a visa exemption) include Argentina, Brazil, the United Kingdom, and large parts of South America.