Palau is one of the 60 countries that are eligible for the ETIAS, which stands for “European Travel Information and Authorization System”. If you are from Palau and want to travel to the Schengen Zone, you will need to apply for an ETIAS.

But there’s no need for sighs and eye rolls, as it’s actually a very simple and straightforward process, and once it has been completed, countries like Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Germany, Slovakia, and Sweden will be at your mercy!

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Palauan Citizens

The ETIAS takes effect at the end of 2022. It has been in development for many years, with major European governments working on the security databases and the infrastructure that will allow the ETIAS to work quickly and without issue.

You can’t visit any of the 26 Schengen member states unless you have been granted an ETIAS authorization. To apply, you will need:

  • A secure internet connection
  • A valid passport
  • A €7 fee
  • Some basic personal and travel details
  • A valid email address

The application takes less than 10 minutes to complete and, if authorized, you will receive confirmation by email. Once granted, ETIAS authorization will permit access to the Schengen Zone for up to 3 years (or until your passport expires) and allow you to stay in the area for 90 consecutive days.

Do Palauans Citizens Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver for Europe?

The European Union, the Schengen Zone, the European Economic Area, Europe—these names are occasionally used interchangeably, but they are very different.

Europe is a continent that includes 51 countries (including only sovereign states); the European Union (EU) is a union of 27 European countries; the European Economic Area (EEA) is a trade union that includes EU countries, along with Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein.

As for the Schengen Zone, it is an agreement that was signed by 22 EU countries and four countries from something known as the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

It can all be very confusing if you’re an outsider and have never been introduced to these terms before. To keep it simple, just remember that the Schengen Zone doesn’t cover all of Europe and the ETIAS only covers the Schengen Zone.

In other words, an ETIAS won’t grant you access to all of Europe, only to the 26 Schengen member states. If you want to travel outside of these nations, you will need to check with border laws and make sure you meet the requirements.

What are the Best Countries for Palauans to Visit with an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

There are currently 26 Schengen member states, including some of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. Palauan travelers have a wealth of history, culture, and great food to explore once they get their ETIAS, including:

  • Greece: Home to the Acropolis and the ancient city of Athens, as well as some of the best olive oil, produce, and dishes in the Mediterranean.
  • Italy: Like Greece, Italy is full of history, culture, and delicious food. Naples is the home of pizza, Rome is where you will find the Coliseum, and Tuscany is also the center of delicious foods and beverages in southern Europe.
  • Germany: Berlin is one of the most underrated cities in Europe. It’s also much cheaper than other major EU cities.
  • France: From the city of love to wine regions, and the style and class of Nice and Monaco.
  • Spain: A vast country that has a lot to offer, including cosmopolitan cities like Madrid and Barcelona, as well as some island paradises.
  • Denmark: Often rated as one of the best places to live, Denmark is clean, friendly, and fun-loving.

Which Countries Can Palauans Visit Without a Visa?

The Palauan passport is not very highly ranked by the Henley Passport Index, which ranks passports based on how many countries and territories they can visit without a visa.

Palauans need a visa to see most of Africa, as well as large parts of Asia and South America. They also need to complete a visa application before they visit Australia and New Zealand.

On the plus side, they can visit the United States and the United Kingdom without a visa, and thanks to the ETIAS, they can see some of Europe’s biggest nations following a simple visa waiver application.