ETIAS for Citizens of North Macedonia

North Macedonia has had a troubled recent history. Known officially as the Republic of North Macedonia, this southern European country has been involved in a few disputes concerning its name and territory and has also tried (and thus far failed) to join the European Union.

North Macedonian citizens still have a lot of freedom though, providing they own a valid passport. After 2022, North Macedonian citizens will also be able to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver, allowing them to travel throughout countries in the Schengen Zone, including nearby Greece.

The ETIAS Visa Waiver

The ETIAS system is an automatic screening program that checks tourists entering the Schengen Area from more than 60 countries around the world, including North Macedonia.

Once they have received ETIAS travel authorization, valid passport holders can travel to all Schengen countries and remain for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

What are the ETIAS Requirements for Macedonian Citizens?

You need a valid passport to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver and will also need a secure internet connection, as it’s an online application. You will be asked some simple questions during the ETIAS application process and must answer these honestly to avoid any issues.

Once approved, you will be asked to pay a small fee by debit or credit card (the fee is waived for anyone under the age of 18 or over the age of 70) and will be provided electronic travel authorization documents.

What Countries Can Macedonians Visit with an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

ETIAS travel authorization grants access to all countries within the Schengen Zone:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Is Macedonia in the European Union or Schengen Area?

North Macedonia has tried to join the European Union and its accession to the EU has been on the cards since 2005. However, it has yet actually joined the EU and there have been a number of issues along the way, including a veto from Greece and then problems with Bulgaria.

It is not part of the Schengen Area, either, although these things might change in time and the leaders of the country have expressed their interest in joining these unions.

Is an ETIAS Schengen Visa Valid for North Macedonia?

As North Macedonia is not part of the Schengen Area, the ETIAS does not apply here. You can use an ETIAS visa waiver to travel around Greece and to access countries like France, Italy, and Spain, but it doesn’t apply to North Macedonia.

Where Can You Travel with a North Macedonian Passport?

Before 2022 and the launch of the ETIAS visa waiver, a North Macedonian passport was ranked 47th on the Henley Passport Index, which ranks global passports based on the freedom that they provide their citizens.

At the time, citizens of North Macedonia with a valid passport could access 124 countries and territories without a visa or through a visa-on-arrival program.