ETIAS for Argentinians

Before 2022, Argentine citizens were free to travel to countries in the Schengen Area without applying for a visa or jumping through any of the hoops typically required of long-distance travelers.

At the end of 2022, that changed, and a new system was implemented that required a few additional steps for Argentinians seeking to visit 26 countries in Europe, including some of the most popular tourist destinations on the continent.

The ETIAS Visa Waiver

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) requires residents from over 60 countries to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver before they visit countries in the Schengen Area.

The electronic travel document is provided following a short online application and is valid for 3 years. Successful applicants can visit Schengen countries for up to 90 days in a 180-day period.

What are the ETIAS Requirements for Argentine Citizens?

Citizens of Argentina must complete an ETIAS application before they visit any Schengen countries post-2022. The application form is available on the official website and can be completed online.

In addition to a valid passport, Argentine citizens will need to provide some basic details about themselves and their travel plans, before paying a small application fee with a debit or credit card.

The ETIAS application was designed to be simple and quick, unlike a traditional visa.

What Countries Can Argentines Visit with an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

Citizens of Argentina can use their ETIAS visa waiver to visit all 26 Schengen member states, including:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

The list may change in the future as more countries sign the agreement and become part of the Schengen Area. Croatia, for instance, is part of the European Union and while it has stated its desire to join the Schengen Area, it has not yet been granted access. The Prime Minister of Croatia has previously stated that it expects to join by 2024, although that remains to be seen.

What about the UK and Ireland?

The United Kingdom officially left the European Union in 2021 and it is not part of the Schengen Area, so the ETIAS visa waiver does not apply here.

However, Argentine citizens are free to visit the country without a visa and can stay for up to 6 months.

Ireland is a little more complicated. It is a European Union member state, but it is not part of the Schengen Area. Argentinian citizens will need a visa if they wish to visit Ireland.

Of course, that is only true for the Republic of Ireland which is distinct from Northern Ireland. The latter is part of the UK; the former is not.

How Valuable is an Argentine Passport?

The Argentine passport is one of the 20 most valuable passports in the world based on the freedom to travel and visa status. Before the ETIAS program became active, valid passport holders in Argentina could access 171 countries without a visa or with a visa-on-arrival.