ETIAS for Brazilians

Europe has undergone some major changes over the last few years and the introduction of the ETIAS is set to be one of the biggest. Launched at the end of 2022, the ETIAS visa waiver program aims to secure the borders across the Schengen Zone, potentially reducing the risk of terrorist attacks and illegal immigration.

All citizens of Brazil are required to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver if they want to access any of the Schengen countries, which includes 22 member states of the European Union and 4 countries from the European Economic Area.

What is the ETIAS Visa Waiver?

The European Travel Information and Authorization System, shortened to “ETIAS”, is a visa waiver for all Schengen countries. Residents from over 60 countries, including Brazil, are required to complete the ETIAS application process before they travel to this region.

It’s an online application and it generally takes just 10 minutes to complete. A valid passport and a fee are required, and unless there are any issues during the application process, ETIAS travel authorization will be granted via an electronic document.

Why Should Brazilian Citizens Apply for an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

They should apply because they have to. After 2022, citizens of Brazil can’t enter the Schengen Zone if they don’t have an ETIAS visa waiver.

Which Countries Can I Visit with an ETIAS?

An ETIAS visa waiver grants you access for multi-entry to all countries within the Schengen Zone, which includes some of the most popular tourist attractions in Europe:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

How Long Does the ETIAS Last?

As soon as your ETIAS application is successful, you will be granted a visa waiver that remains valid for 3 years, or until your passport expires. You can enter countries within the Schengen Zone for up to 90 days in a 180-day period and are free to cross borders and visit multiple countries in this area.

What are the Most Popular European Travel Destinations for Brazilians?

Brazilian citizens tend to stay fairly close to home, just like travelers from all other countries. Some of the most popular destinations include Argentina, Chile, and the United States, with Buenos Aires and Florida seemingly proving very popular.

When they travel across the Atlantic, they tend to prefer Portugal more than any other European nation. After all, not only do they share a language, but the histories of these nations are also intertwined and so Portuguese cities like Lisbon and Porto feel like home for many Brazilian citizens.

As is the case with all travelers, Brazilians also flock to Rome, Paris, and Madrid, enjoying the great food, history, and culture of these major cities. London’s popularity has increased in recent years, as well. Not only is it a city steeped in history, but it’s also very big on football/soccer, and that’s something that most Brazilians can identify with.

As far as the ETIAS visa waiver is concerned, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Lisbon, and Porto all fall within the specifics of this waiver as these cities are part of countries within the Schengen Area. The same can’t be said for London, but the travel laws are very relaxed there.

Brazilian citizens can visit the UK as tourists for up to 6 months before they require a visa. They cannot work and they will be asked to prove that they are tourists, but it’s a relatively simple process that thousands of Brazilians undertake every year. It only really becomes complicated for Brazilian citizens with extensive criminal records, as well as those who have been refused access to the UK in the past.