ETIAS for Chileans

The ETIAS visa waiver program was introduced to secure external borders in the Schengen Area. It requires tourists from Chile and many other countries to submit an online application and request travel authorization before accessing the Schengen Zone.

With an ETIAS, citizens of Chile can visit countries like Spain, France, Austria, Germany, Italy, and Greece. Without it, they will be refused access after the end of 2022.

What is an ETIAS Visa Waiver?

ETIAS stands for “European Travel Information and Authorization System”. It is an electronic visa waiver program that was first proposed in late-2016 and implemented in late 2022.

Residents of more than 60 countries, including Chile, must apply for an ETIAS visa waiver before they enter the Schengen Area, which includes 22 countries in the European Union (more are due to be added at a later date) and 4 countries from the European Economic Area.

Citizens of Chile can use an ETIAS visa waiver to access all countries within the Schengen Zone and are free to cross multiple borders and spend up to 90 days (in any 180 day period) in these countries.

What are the ETIAS Requirements for Chilean Citizens?

The only real requirement is that you have a valid Chilean passport that does not expire in the next 3 months. You will also need access to the internet, as the ETIAS application is conducted online through the official website.

The application process takes less than 10 minutes to complete, and you will need to pay a small fee at the end, so make sure you have your debit or credit card to hand.

Can I Work or Study with an ETIAS?

The ETIAS is mainly for tourists, although it can also be used for business and transit purposes. It does not give you the right to work or study within the Schengen Zone. It is also limited to stays of no longer than 90 consecutive days over a 180 day period.

If you need something more long-term and something that will allow you to work or study, contact your local embassy or consulate.

Traveling with a Chilean Passport

Before the ETIAS visa waiver program, Chileans had visa-on-arrival or visa-free access to over 170 countries around the world, making the Chilean passport one of the 20 most powerful in the world and the third most powerful in the Americas (behind only Canada and the United States). When it comes to travel, Chileans have a lot more freedom than residents of other South American nations.

Some of the non-European countries that Chileans can access without a visa include Canada, Japan, and South Korea.

Can Chileans Travel to the US Without a Visa?

The United States has its own visa waiver program, known as the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) and it is required for arrivals by air or via cruise ships. It is only available for holders of a biometric passport and is valid for 2 years, with holders granted access for up to 90 days.