Norway is one of the most visited and the most beautiful countries in Europe. It often finds itself at the top of lists for “best quality of living” and “best healthcare” and has a lot of natural beauty and friendly people.

As of late 2022, a lot of tourists seeking to travel to Norway will need an ETIAS, and that’s what we will discuss in this guide.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Norway

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It is an electronic system that has been in discussion for a number of years and will eventually take effect toward the end of 2022. Once the ETIAS visa waiver program is active, most non-Schengen residents will need a visa waiver before they visit Norway.

The ETIAS visa waiver for Norway is valid for 3 years and allows holders to travel for up to 90 days within any 180 day period.

As an example, if you were to be granted an ETIAS visa waiver today, you could visit Norway next week and spend 20 days there before moving onto Finland and/or Sweden to stay for another 70 days. At that point, you will need to return home, wait for a few months to pass (so that you don’t exceed that “90 days within a 180 day period” limit) and then you can return and start the process again.

You can use your Norway ETIAS to visit all countries within the Schengen Zone and will be able to travel throughout these internal borders.

It is not a Schengen Visa, however, and it cannot be used to work. Even if it could, you simply wouldn’t have the time to do anything worthwhile. The same applies to education, although it can be used for short-term courses and studies if applicable.

When Does the Norway ETIAS Expire?

Your Norway ETIAS will expire 3 years after it was initially granted, but there are also times when it could expire earlier.

For instance, your Norway ETIAS visa waiver is tied to your passport and not to you. If that passport expires 6 months after receiving travel authorization, your ETIAS will expire as well. It can also be revoked if you are deemed to be a travel risk due to a change in circumstances.

Is Norway in the Schengen Zone?

Norway is not in the European Union (EU) but it is part of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the European Economic Area (EEA) and it has also signed the Schengen Agreement.

It means that you are free to visit Norway and nearby Schengen countries if you have an ETIAS visa waiver or a Schengen Visa.

ETIAS Application for Norway

The ETIAS application process is the same for Norway as it is for all other countries in the Schengen Zone. You can apply for an ETIAS online and will need to be prepared with all the following things:

  • A valid passport (must be valid for at least 3 months from the date of travel).
  • An email address.
  • A credit card or debit card (to pay the ETIAS fee).
  • Basic personal information (date of birth, address).

Do I Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver to Visit Norway?

You may need to apply for an ETIAS if you reside outside of the Schengen Zone and are traveling to Norway after the end of 2022.

Visiting Norway with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Norway, or the Kingdom of Norway to give it its full title, attracts millions of foreign visitors every year.

It is a beautiful country with some spectacular natural wonders and breathtaking sights. You can even see the Northern Lights!

Norway has a little something for everyone from rock climbers and adventurers to culture seekers, history fans, and foodies. And when you get your hands on an ETIAS, you have a full 90 days to explore this country for yourself!

If you have time left within a 180 day period, you could even jump on a train and explore some other ETIAS countries, ticking off your bucket list as you go.