Poland is one of the 20 most-visited countries in the world. Tourists flock to beautiful cities like Warsaw and Krakow to enjoy the long history, varied culture, and beautiful architecture of this beautiful region. If you reside in the Schengen Zone, you are free to visit this country any time of year and explore everything that it has to offer. If you reside outside of the Schengen Area, you may need an ETIAS visa waiver first.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Poland

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. At the end of 2022 and onwards, visitors from many non-Schengen countries will be required to apply for an ETIAS before they can visit Poland.

The application process is quick and easy and once completed, the applicant will be granted access to Poland and other Schengen countries for up to 3 years (or until the associated passport expires). In those 3 years, you can visit Poland for up to 90 days within any 180-day period.

Without an ETIAS, you will be refused access.

Do I Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver to Visit Poland?

The ETIAS system doesn’t apply to everyone.

If you reside within the Schengen Zone, including many countries within the European Union (EU), you won’t need an ETIAS. If you were able to access Poland freely before the end of 2022, you will likely need an ETIAS.

As for everyone else, a Schengen Visa is required before travelers will be permitted access to Poland.

In other words, while the ETIAS requires a few extra steps and can be a nuisance, it’s better than the alternative, which may require you to visit the embassy or consulate and undergo a lengthy visa application process.

Poland and the Schengen Visa

The ETIAS visa waiver is not a visa, it’s an exemption. It gives you access to Poland and other Schengen countries for up to 90 days within any 180-day period. It’s not long enough for full-time study or work, and it has many limitations. If you want to work or study within the Schengen Zone, you will need to apply for a visa.

Visiting Poland with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Poland has been ruled by many kings, conquered and occupied by many armies, and it has a history that dates back thousands of years. You can experience all this history in the country’s many museums.

It is not part of the Euro, and so you will need to convert your Dollars, Pounds, or Euros to Zlotys, but it is one of the cheapest of all major EU nations, and you can get great food and accommodation at a cut price.

Poland borders Germany, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic, all of which are also in the Schengen Zone. If you have an ETIAS visa waiver, you are permitted to visit these countries and can move freely between them.