Many travelers from outside the European Union (EU) will need to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver if they want to visit Slovenia after late-2022. Fortunately, the ETIAS application process is fast, seamless, and straightforward—that’s how it was designed.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Slovenia

The Schengen Agreement effectively requires all signees to abolish internal borders. It means that locals and travelers can move freely from one country to the next without stopping for border checks. At the same time, however, it means that criminals and high-risk individuals are afforded the same freedom.

The ETIAS program was designed to prevent such issues. ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It’s an automated electronic authorization system that requires travelers from certain locations to submit personal details and passport data.

The information will then be checked against international databases, including those managed by INTERPOL. These databases record information about terrorists and suspected terrorists, as well as traffickers, drug smugglers, and violent criminals.

If there are any issues, the system will call for a manual review and authorization may be refused.

Do I Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver to Visit Slovenia?

If you reside in one of the following countries and you are visiting Slovenia after late-2022, you will need to apply for an ETIAS:

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

An ETIAS is also required for access to 25 other Schengen member states, including Austria, Belgium, Italy, and the Netherlands.

ETIAS Application Process

If you are reading this article, then you have a secure internet connection and you probably have a valid email address. If so, the only thing that remains is a secure passport and you’re ready to apply for an ETIAS.

Unlike a Schengen Visa, which requires you to submit lots of different documents and to prove everything from your accommodation to your financial situation, the ETIAS visa waiver keeps everything simple.

At the end of the application, you must pay a €7 fee, although this is waived for travelers 18 and under.

Once granted, ETIAS authorization is valid for three years and permits access for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. It’s not guaranteed to remain valid through that time, though. It can be revoked if your status changes and you are deemed to be a security risk. It will also expire sooner if the associated passport expires.

Visiting Slovenia with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Slovenia is an underrated tourist destination, but it has a lot to offer. It’s naturally diverse and beautiful, full of medieval history, and perfect for adventurers and extreme sports fans. It even has a big wine culture and quality grapes and wines have been produced in Maribor for nearly 500 years.