Sweden, or the “Kingdom of Sweden” as it is officially known, is part of the Schengen Zone. As a result, visitors from around 60 countries must apply for an ETIAS if they want to visit the country after late-2022.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is a European Union protocol designed to protect Sweden and 25 other Schengen member states.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Sweden

But for a few exceptions, all European Union countries are required to sign the Schengen Agreement. The idea is to safeguard the borders by automatically vetting all travelers to the region, making sure there are no serious criminal offenses and other red flags.

Every application is completed online and takes just 10 minutes. The applicant simply needs to submit their name, address, date of birth, and passport number before paying a nominal fee (waived for minors). Once completed, the application details will be checked against official databases, such as those prepared by INTERPOL.

If there are any terrorism charges or suspicions of terrorism, a red flag will be raised. The same applies to cases of drug smuggling, trafficking, and violent crime.

Do I Need an ETIAS Visa Waiver to Visit Sweden?

If you were able to visa Sweden without a visa prior to late 2022, you will probably need an ETIAS visa waiver once the system takes effect.

The countries that are currently eligible for an ETIAS application are as follows:

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Sweden and the Schengen Visa

The ETIAS visa waiver is short-term and while you can technically use it to study and see family, it’s really just designed for tourism. If you want to spend longer than 90 days in Sweden or you’re hoping to study, work, and live there, you will need to apply for a visa.

The visa application process is not as quick and hassle-free and you will need all the following to apply:

  • Two photographs in a passport format
  • Your passport and copies of any previous visas you have received
  • Travel insurance
  • A letter stating why you want to visit Sweden
  • Booking and accommodation reservations
  • Proof of financial means
  • Proof of civil status

The application requirements, along with the time that it takes to complete, may depend on where you are applying from and what you intend to use the visa for. You can get more information about applying for a Schengen visa by visiting an embassy.

Visiting Sweden with an ETIAS Visa Waiver

Sweden is a spacious and beautiful country that has a little bit of everything. It’s clean, beautiful, and often ranks highly on global lists for education and healthcare. It also has some of the best English proficiency in the non-English speaking world, making it easier for visitors who don’t speak the language.